• Digital Nomads
  • Posts
  • 5 Proven Ways to Get Started with Copywriting as a Beginner in 30 days

5 Proven Ways to Get Started with Copywriting as a Beginner in 30 days

Your Copywriting Guide to Landing Dream Clients

Copywriting is one of the most profitable careers in the Digital Marketing world today. With words that help bring leads and sales, who wouldn’t want to hire Copywriters today?

As a copywriter, you'll need some skills, the major ones being — Marketing and Writing.

Marketing helps you understand your audience, where they hang out, what they consume, what persuades them, and other criteria.

Writing, on the other hand, helps you channel your marketing skills into words that persuade people to turn into leads or customers.

Both of these skills go hand-in-hand and are correlational in nature. But, if you're afraid that you might possess either of these, trust me, I was once there.

And guess what? I didn’t pay a single dime towards the beginning of my copywriting career. I may taken months behind research and resources.

But I’m here to show you the exact 5 free ways to get started with Copywriting within 30 days.

So without further ado, let’s get right into it.

Start with YouTube🎥

When I started diving down into Copywriting as a side-hustle, I decided to leverage YouTube as my resource for gaining insights, gathering knowledge and developing skills, as a rookie copywriter.

YouTube Channels : Alex Cattoni, Brian Dean, Ahrefs, Neil Patel and H-Educate (their videos include a mix of marketing and copywriting)

No alt text provided for this image

Read and Write Blogs📝

A Year back I used to hate blogging as I didn’t have a persuasive hold over my content. Basically, I failed to craft a “decent” article back then.

Today, I blog at least 200–500 words per day and definitely am in love with it. As a Copywriter, you need writing skills that are persuasive and powerful enough to generate conversions. Thus, starting with a Free Blog of your own can really help you improvise on your writing skills

Free Platforms to Start Blogging : Medium, Wix, Tumblr, LinkedIn, Blogger, WordPress(dot)org

Resources to Read Blogs about Writing Blogs : Copyblogger, SmartBlogger, Neil Patel, Backlinko, HubSpot, WPBeginner, Smart Passive Income

No alt text provided for this image

Read Books📚

This is something I realised pretty late. But, I am glad that it's better late than never. The books I am about to refer to below are a powerful resource for learning Copywriting along with Marketing. All of them are available on Amazon

Books on Copywriting/Marketing : DotCom Secrets, Expert Secrets, Traffic Secrets by Russel Brunson (All three books are part of his trilogy), Copywriting Secrets by Jim Edwards, Epic Content Marketing by Joe Pulizzi, How to Write Better Copy by Steve Harrison, The Adweek Copywriting Handbook by Joseph Sugarman

No alt text provided for this image

Listen to Podcasts🎙

Just in case you’re not aware of this, the Podcasting market is booming now more than ever! Most of my clients are Podcasters and you have no idea how exciting it is to work with them.

Here are a few recommendations for Marketing Podcasts that will help you with Copywriting :

Podcasts : Amy Potterfield’s Online Marketing Made Easy, The Smart Passive Income Podcast by Pat Flynn (my personal favourite) , The Marketing Secrets Show by Russel Brunson, The Tim Ferris Show by Tim Ferris, The Gary Vee Audio Experience by Gary Vaynerchuk

No alt text provided for this image

Get on Freelancing Websites🛠

Reading, Watching, and Listening to resources is fine. You definitely need to gain skills and knowledge before you start dealing with clients. But, implementing your skills is equally important as well.

Freelance Websites to sell Copywriting Gigs : Fiverr, Upwork, Legiit, PeoplePerHour, Guru, Freelancer, Truelancer, Contra ( I will write a detailed post on freelancing websites soon)

[NOTE : I have referred to Marketing in several places since Copywriting requires some basic Marketing skills such as Market Research, finding Customer Pain Points, Lead Generation Tactics,etc. ]

No alt text provided for this image

Final Thoughts

Finally, the 30 days timeframe is just there to get you kickstarted on your journey in a little time with the help of the free resources I’ve listed above.

It’s alright if you want to take 60 days or even 3 months. But if you're planning to keep learning, don't forget to buy some really good paid courses on Copywriting, if possible.

I did the same. It’ll teach you some advanced copywriting strategies and tactics. You can refer to the experts I’ve listed above under free resources. Most of them have paid courses.