• Digital Nomads
  • Posts
  • If I Had to Start my Writing Career from Scratch...

If I Had to Start my Writing Career from Scratch...

Your Weekly Writer's Digest

Hey Nomad, 

How'd your weekend go?

In today's edition, you'll read about :

→ 5 Soft Skills every Writer needs to Dominate their Writing Game

→ 9 Ways to Build a Daily Writing Habit 

→ What would I do if I had to Start my Writing Career from Scratch?

This issue will take you 3 mins to read. 

Happy Reading.

5 Soft Skills every Writer needs to Dominate their Writing Game

In a recent LinkedIn Post, I covered 5 skills that a Writer needs to stand out among million others. 

Here's a helpful resource on each of them. 

→ Persuasion

→ Storytelling

→ Consistency

→ Concentration 

→ Problem Solving 

9 Ways to Build a Daily Writing Habit

First, a daily writing habit is not a result – it’s a byproduct.

Dickie Bush

There's a lot of misconception around building a Daily Writing Habit. But I don't pay heed to them. Neither should you.

Because Writing Daily is a Skill! Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

When you write daily (even 100 words), you are taking a massive step to accelerate your Writing career.

Writing daily helps you with 3 major transformations.  

→ Boosts your Productivity 

→ Helps come up with Content Ideas almost instantly 

→ Sets you on the Fast track to Master the Writing Game

So go ahead and start writing daily, even if it's 50 words. This consistency will compound into unexpected opportunities in the future. And I'm talking about Paid ones.

But set your limits. Don't go overboard & start writing a book on the first day. You'll burn out. Take it slow, scale it, and in no time you might be hammering 5k+ words daily. 

Anyway, now that I've covered how Writing Daily helps, let's look at the 9 ways to build a daily Writing Habit.

  1. Find Time

  2. Build a Daily Walking Habit

  3. Create an Idea Capture System

  4. Create an Idea Generation System

  5. Set your Creative Constraints

  6. Unlock the Power of Evening Brain Dump

  7. Design your Creative Environment for Focus

  8. Start transcribing your Voice (to demolish Writer's Block)

  9. Track your Streak

All these 9 daily writing habits have been taken from an incredible source written by Dickie Bush. Read it to understand all the habits in detail. I'll link it below. 

Make sure you take notes while reading it. 

What would I do if I had to Start my Writing Career from Scratch?

Here's how I would Start Writing if I had to do it all over again.

→ Start Writing on Medium 

→ Make "Freelance Writing Hub" my Bible

→ Create a LinkedIn & Twitter account (Start posting daily + Repurpose)

→ Pitch to FB Groups & ProBlogger Job Board for Writing Gigs

→ Take Dan Koe's Modern Mastery Program & Upskill 

→ Connect daily with 10-15 people on LinkedIn & Twitter

I would do these for the next 6 months & make it work before I think of "giving up". 

If you're a beginner, use this as a Checklist & let me know if it's working out for you. (It should)

That's it for this today Nomads! Hope this was helpful – let me know by hitting a Reply.

I'll see you next week. 

Sarvam